COMMUNITY

Community  /  Forums  /  Better know the rules in Philly
Better know the rules in Philly
Shawn Overley
Professional Champion
 
298 Views    26 Replies    12 Likes   I like it!
I hope those coming in for the National Get Together event have boned up on the rule book. Philly area guys take it seriously.

http://philadelphia.cbslocal.c../
Mongo68
Legend
 
# 16    8/6/2014 7:17:28 AM   

Vince, be ready just in case. I think I found a buffet for us too. Keep quiet until the 12th though. Shhhhhh.


FYI, Vince paid for ALL his rounds..a long time ago. Slacker!


JayPet
Legend
 
# 17    8/6/2014 7:21:54 AM   


Vince, be ready just in case. I think I found a buffet for us too. Keep quiet until the 12th though. Shhhhhh.


FYI, Vince paid for ALL his rounds..a long time ago. Slacker!



That's OK, we can arrange "alternate" play if it presents itself. I'm wondering how those new clubs will look at Bethpage Black???? Some nice buffets up that way too. Just in case, I'll keep my PayPal account on speed dial, in case I have to play with the "common folk".


Vincedaddy
Legend
 
# 18    8/6/2014 7:59:44 AM   



Vince, be ready just in case. I think I found a buffet for us too. Keep quiet until the 12th though. Shhhhhh.


FYI, Vince paid for ALL his rounds..a long time ago. Slacker!



That's OK, we can arrange "alternate" play if it presents itself. I'm wondering how those new clubs will look at Bethpage Black???? Some nice buffets up that way too. Just in case, I'll keep my PayPal account on speed dial, in case I have to play with the "common folk".



As long as I get comped I play anywhere on Friday. The last thing I want to see is a bunch of paupers running around in untucked under shirts. I get chills just thinking about it!
C'MON MAN


lpj0
Professional Champion
 
# 19    8/6/2014 10:18:20 AM   

Maybe one of those guys can answer a question. Today my ball was lying just outside of a water hazard. There was a dead reed lying both inside and outside of th WH. The reed was blocking my backswing. Could I move it without penalty?



Crazy good question...

First we should clarify that you can never move a tree branch or limb or weed or ... anywhere on the course. Rule 13-2. If you need to do it to approach the ball and get a stance, then you can. However, the golfer is not entitled to a good stance in this case. For further clarification, refer to Decision 13-2/1: Actions which do not constitute taking a fair stance - 1) deliberately moving, bending or breaking branches with the hands, a leg or the body to get them out of the way of the backswing or stroke.

Unlike a sand trap, a loose impediment touching a water hazard can be moved if your ball is not in the hazard since water hazards have vertical boundaries.

However, you mentioned it was dead. If it is still connected to the ground, it is part of the course. If it is no longer adhering to the ground, it is a loose impediment.

So the answer is really the standard original answer. If it is loose and not connected to the ground, you can move it. Otherwise, no.


Vincedaddy
Legend
 
# 20    8/6/2014 10:33:45 AM   


Maybe one of those guys can answer a question. Today my ball was lying just outside of a water hazard. There was a dead reed lying both insidey and outside of th WH. The reed was blocking my backswing. Could I move it without penalty?



Crazy good question...

First we should clarify that you can never move a tree branch or limb or weed or ... anywhere on the course. Rule 13-2. If you need to do it to approach the ball and get a stance, then you can. However, the golfer is not entitled to a good stance in this case. For further clarification, refer to Decision 13-2/1: Actions which do not constitute taking a fair stance - 1) deliberately moving, bending or breaking branches with the hands, a leg or the body to get them out of the way of the backswing or stroke.

Unlike a sand trap, a loose impediment touching a water hazard can be moved if your ball is not in the hazard since water hazards have vertical boundaries.

However, you mentioned it was dead. If it is still connected to the ground, it is part of the course. If it is no longer adhering to the ground, it is a loose impediment.

So the answer is really the standard original answer. If it is loose and not connected to the ground, you can move it. Otherwise, no.



The WH was a ditch that had been cleaned out. Reed had been uprooted but the stem was in the mud. Roots were exposed.


JayPet
Legend
 
# 21    8/6/2014 10:49:34 AM   




Vince, be ready just in case. I think I found a buffet for us too. Keep quiet until the 12th though. Shhhhhh.


FYI, Vince paid for ALL his rounds..a long time ago. Slacker!



That's OK, we can arrange "alternate" play if it presents itself. I'm wondering how those new clubs will look at Bethpage Black???? Some nice buffets up that way too. Just in case, I'll keep my PayPal account on speed dial, in case I have to play with the "common folk".



As long as I get comped I play anywhere on Friday. The last thing I want to see is a bunch of paupers running around in untucked under shirts. I get chills just thinking about it!



I'm not sure that Bethpage will let you play in the "wife beater T" you may have to put something over that thing.


HOGAN418
Professional Champion
 
# 22    8/6/2014 10:52:19 AM   
Yo Joey... (grabbing crotch)... you drop that ball and I'll bust a cap in ya..


lpj0
Professional Champion
 
# 23    8/6/2014 12:01:56 PM   



Maybe one of those guys can answer a question. Today my ball was lying just outside of a water hazard. There was a dead reed lying both insidey and outside of th WH. The reed was blocking my backswing. Could I move it without penalty?



Crazy good question...

First we should clarify that you can never move a tree branch or limb or weed or ... anywhere on the course. Rule 13-2. If you need to do it to approach the ball and get a stance, then you can. However, the golfer is not entitled to a good stance in this case. For further clarification, refer to Decision 13-2/1: Actions which do not constitute taking a fair stance - 1) deliberately moving, bending or breaking branches with the hands, a leg or the body to get them out of the way of the backswing or stroke.

Unlike a sand trap, a loose impediment touching a water hazard can be moved if your ball is not in the hazard since water hazards have vertical boundaries.

However, you mentioned it was dead. If it is still connected to the ground, it is part of the course. If it is no longer adhering to the ground, it is a loose impediment.

So the answer is really the standard original answer. If it is loose and not connected to the ground, you can move it. Otherwise, no.



The WH was a ditch that had been cleaned out. Reed had been uprooted but the stem was in the mud. Roots were exposed.


If you deem it to be "not connected to the ground" - Then move it!


Dandy
Professional Champion
 
# 24    8/7/2014 4:12:44 PM   







Ha! That is funny as heck.


Scott, check your inbox. Need an answer soon.


I have seen it. It says you are closing it on the 12th, correct?


Yup

You have 7 days Scott!



So does Jay. He SAYS he's playing Friday but I have yet to get payment for it. Only Saturday is paid. Oh well, potentially his loss. I've only been reminding him for about 3 months now.

Maybe I should go easy on him. I mean he's hardly ever in the office and maybe he gets paid hourly. Its tough to make ends meet when you only work 15-20 hours full time.


I'm paid, and Friday is optional. I keep my options open in case something Bigger comes along. I always hold out for the best case scenario. Since I'm a man in demand, I never close the door until ALL options are exhausted. I have seven days to get a free tee time at a World Class facility. I'm sure there's someone willing to set that up and pay for it

If it doesn't happen, it would not only be tragic but I will have a fall back with you clowns (that is said with nothing but the highest respect). Cheers!


I know what Jay will be doing on Friday:
http://philadelphia.cbslocal.c../


JayPet
Legend
 
# 25    8/7/2014 4:56:10 PM   








Ha! That is funny as heck.


Scott, check your inbox. Need an answer soon.


I have seen it. It says you are closing it on the 12th, correct?


Yup

You have 7 days Scott!



So does Jay. He SAYS he's playing Friday but I have yet to get payment for it. Only Saturday is paid. Oh well, potentially his loss. I've only been reminding him for about 3 months now.

Maybe I should go easy on him. I mean he's hardly ever in the office and maybe he gets paid hourly. Its tough to make ends meet when you only work 15-20 hours full time.


I'm paid, and Friday is optional. I keep my options open in case something Bigger comes along. I always hold out for the best case scenario. Since I'm a man in demand, I never close the door until ALL options are exhausted. I have seven days to get a free tee time at a World Class facility. I'm sure there's someone willing to set that up and pay for it

If it doesn't happen, it would not only be tragic but I will have a fall back with you clowns (that is said with nothing but the highest respect). Cheers!


I know what Jay will be doing on Friday:
http://philadelphia.cbslocal.c../



That's Next Level Trev!! Truly Outstanding!! I'll send pictures.


Dandy
Professional Champion
 
# 26    8/7/2014 8:22:36 PM   









Ha! That is funny as heck.


Scott, check your inbox. Need an answer soon.


I have seen it. It says you are closing it on the 12th, correct?


Yup

You have 7 days Scott!



So does Jay. He SAYS he's playing Friday but I have yet to get payment for it. Only Saturday is paid. Oh well, potentially his loss. I've only been reminding him for about 3 months now.

Maybe I should go easy on him. I mean he's hardly ever in the office and maybe he gets paid hourly. Its tough to make ends meet when you only work 15-20 hours full time.


I'm paid, and Friday is optional. I keep my options open in case something Bigger comes along. I always hold out for the best case scenario. Since I'm a man in demand, I never close the door until ALL options are exhausted. I have seven days to get a free tee time at a World Class facility. I'm sure there's someone willing to set that up and pay for it

If it doesn't happen, it would not only be tragic but I will have a fall back with you clowns (that is said with nothing but the highest respect). Cheers!


I know what Jay will be doing on Friday:
http://philadelphia.cbslocal.c../



That's Next Level Trev!! Truly Outstanding!! I'll send pictures.


It's all for you buddy. Enjoy!


  • 1
  • 2